Wednesday, September 10, 2008

MLS Scoring Title Margins

In keeping with yesterday's theme, here's a look at the biggest gaps between the MLS Golden Boot winner and the second place goal scorer.

The race for top scorer has been very close most years, with only four seasons where the top scorer beat the man in second by more than two goals. In three seasons (1999, 2003 and 2004) two or more players tied for the lead.

If the season ended today, Landon Donovan would be fifth on the list, as he leads teammate Edson Buddle and Dallas' Kenny Cooper by three goals.

Mamadou Diallo 8 2000
Stern John 7 1998
Roy Lassiter 4 1996
Alex Pineda Chacon 4 2001
Jeff Cunningham 2 2006
Jaime Moreno 1 1997
Carlos Ruiz 1 2002
Taylor Twellman 1 2005
Luciano Emilio 1 2007

No comments: